Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/formosam/public_html/phpBB3/includes/bbcode.php on line 112

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/formosam/public_html/phpBB3/includes/bbcode.php on line 112

FormosaMBA 傷心咖啡店 • 檢視主題 - [轉貼] Top MBA: Myth making alumni -- From BW MBA Forum

[轉貼] Top MBA: Myth making alumni -- From BW MBA Forum

留學美洲的各種資訊交流

版主: raist, Opeman

[轉貼] Top MBA: Myth making alumni -- From BW MBA Forum

文章william » 2005-05-02 23:19

All:

I graduated from an MBA a few years ago ranked in the top 10 in most rankings. When I graduated, I landed a job paying 150K base on my own, without the help of my career center. Prior to my MBA, I made 60K in a different career, so I guess you could say my time in school was a success.

I didnt think much about this until recently when I met a graduate of a no-name state school recently that I interviewed for a post-MBA job - he blew me away with his knowledge of finance, statistics, and modeling (I had him show me a student project he did in a 3rd round interview) In my opinion this individual knew 10 times more than students that graduated from my MBA. And, this isnt the first time I have noticed quality issues from some 'top' MBA programs.

(Note: I am not knocking opportunity to network and BRAND of top schools, I am asking about what you actually LEARN on those programs based on my experience in one)

However, there were a lot of issues I think people on these boards need to consider:

1) My career service center constantly tried to talk me out of my desired career change - at several points I was told 'go back to what you did before, you will get a nice raise and remember: placement helps our rankings!'